None of us is as smart as all of us

I had a poster in my classroom that I have carried with me from office to office to office (I count 9 offices in 18 years) and it really sums up they way I think about learning and doing:

None of us is as smart as all of us.

I am ENTJ.  I don’t wait for someone to tell me what to do and sometimes even resent that to the point of no return.  I especially don’t like it when someone tries to tell me how to do something.  This applies to my learning as well.

I had the opportunity to engage in a conversation about “digital age learning” with an amazing group of educators earlier this week.  Of course, the conversation turned to technology.  Of course, that moved to a conversation about “too much” technology.  I stumbled upon a wonderful conversation on Twitter this AM and it led me to this blog post from 2008!
http://dougbelshaw.com/blog/2008/03/28/is-twitter-bad-for-you/#.T0YTUnJSTLI

As I read it, I thought of that conversation and that caused me to think about a book and a Ted talk by Sherry Turkle (Alone Together) – http://alonetogetherbook.com/ and . Then, I thought about a graphic I have used in workshops on creating Personal Learning Networks using social media…

 

…remember, I am ENTJ and believe none of us is as smart as all of us.

What will come of all of this “social networking”?  Is networking learning?  Does learning require a network?  If someone learns something and never teaches someone else about it, is it really learning?

Leave a Reply

