A Letter to Jack

Dear Jack-

I am pretty sure you have had a great year given where you are and all, but I know it’s not quite where anyone thought you would be at this time of your life.  I hope you were able to take in a few baseball games this year as I know you are a baseball fan like I am.  I didn’t go to any games this season but watched several on the Internet, but we both know that’s not the same.  But, it’s really not a big deal as I am pretty lucky to have such little things to trouble me.  I can’t imagine what your family feels when they hear a phrase like “that’s not the same.”  I can’t imagine what is the same for them.

I think about you and your classmates often.  I visit a lot of schools in my job and some times when I pull in to a parking lot and look at the school, I wonder if everyone is safe inside.  I wonder if there is a kid in the school who is sad or hurt beyond what I can imagine and needs help he isn’t getting.  I wonder a lot of things but mostly I wonder what I can do to make sure what happened to you doesn’t happen to another kid.

I know it has been just about a year since your death and I just want you to know that I am thinking about you, your family, your classmates and their families, and your community.  I hope that I and other people like me come to understand what we need to do differently to make sure kids like you don’t have to go through what you did.

Take care of yourself and enjoy the beautiful winter views!

Becky Fisher

 

 

 

One Response to “A Letter to Jack”

  1. Pam Says:

    There is nothing worse than the loss of a child for any reason- when we a child self-harms because of fear, self-loathing, mental health issues, or rage – or a child lashes out at the world because of the above, we lose their potential, sometimes for all time. We are all diminished by the loss of a child and the possibilities that will never be realized from their talents. When we lose a child, not because of accident or physical health, but because somehow the adults failed to see and act, we all lose a bit of humanity.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,963 other followers

